Baghdadee بغدادي

Arab American Soldier in Baghdad

Salam...Greetings from Baghdad International Airport.

I'm an Arab American soldier here in Baghdad with the Army. I belong to a Civil Affairs unit here engaged in reconstruction work and would first off like to say I'm very enthused to see more and more Iraqis sharing their thoughts for the world community, and more importantly other Iraqis.

I'll post more later but I was hoping to get some help on two side projects. The first was seeing if Iraqis would be able to submit diaries of their experiences in Iraq in the last year, focusing on the war, reconstruction, their life...and their future dreams. I hope to send this back to people I know in the States (especially the Arab and Muslim American communities) to inspire them to get off their butts and come to Iraq to help this nation get back on its feet. Secondly I am in contact with an Iraqi American working for a organization that gets children in the US and other countries to participate in dialogue with one another. Teachers that have access to the internet would be of great value and I may be able to pull donations together to help pay for internet cafe access time here in Baghdad for interested teachers.

If you can hepl me out please email me at

mohammed.masry@us.army.mil

If you want to reach me by mail just give an envelope to any American soldier you see on the street, (no postage stamp needed from inside Iraq) with:

SGT OMAR MASRY

490 CIVIL AFFAIRS BN

APO AE 09335

THanks

(Please translate into arabic i dont have the software on this computer)

PS. I also have democracy/civic education guides (in arabic) that I would like help getting printed and sent out to schools (elementary-college level).

ALSO: I am working on trying to help out with a project to stock small libraries that will be put in womens centers soon to be built around Iraq. I would appreciate lists of books that would be needed as well as donations if possible. Thank You.