Baghdadee بغدادي

Life in Portugal

This is my first time posting here. I have no arabic keyboard to post in Arabic but at any rate I'd like to share my experience that I found bitter-sweet.

I've moved to Lisbon, Portugal on November 2004 from Baghdad. I'm already a quadrilingual despite being 17, Portuguese not included. Coming from a moderate Muslim family. One of the few Iraqi/Arab families living here.

Been around a number of European countries other than my birth place, Italy. And upon moving to Portugal, I found out that this tiny little forgotten country is a well-hidden paradise that people often miss for a part of Spain <_<

For the first time, I found an European Population that doesn't actually discriminate against Arabs or Muslims. Somewhere where you don 't get "The Evil Look" when you say you're a Muslim Iraqi.

Yeah, there might be a bit of ignorance going on. Like the I-lost-count number of times when people ask me whether I'm Jewish cause I'm speaking a weird language and that I don't eat pork. Not that I have anything against Jews...but hey, I'm not jewish so what's with the kosher-food kind of thoughts? And then the other thing is that I speak no Portuguese and that my main language is English that happened to sound so American... they think I'm American, but I correct them anyway :huh:

Eitherway, when they actually know that I'm Iraqi, they're ever so kind and ever so interested (With levels of ignorance that could be embarrassing at times!) in my culture. Not that I know that much to "Enlight and enrich" them, but creating a bright image is a good idea.